Albatross, best Besnard Lakes track yet?

I’ve been a fan of Montreal’s Besnard Lakes for a good while now. Songs like ‘And You Lied To Me’ and ‘Devastation’ from 2007’s ‘The Besnard Lakes Are The Dark Horse‘ remained on heavy rotation on my stereo for months, and I definitely put ‘Disaster’ on one too many over emotional ‘I-think-I’m-in-nick-and-norah’s-infinite-playlist-even-though-it-was-shit’ mixtapes. I wasn’t alone in my adoration, and they went on to be nominated for the Polaris Music Prize and now they’ve made a new album ‘The Besnard Lakes Are The Roaring Night, which is terribly exciting indeed!

The first track to be released to the Canadian indie band hungry blogs is ‘Albatross‘ and it is brilliant. Vocalist Olga Goreas puts in a stunning performance fitting in perfectly with the shoegaze-fuzz of the guitars (which reminds me a bit of Magnetic Fields’ album before last ‘Distortion’), this song is epic with intent is prepared to take you places. Yup, places.

Basically let’s hope they come and play in London soon or I might lose my mind. For now I’ll be playing the below on repeat.

Besnard Lakes – Albatross
right click, download

One thought on “Albatross, best Besnard Lakes track yet?

Leave a Reply

